top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara Rose

The Hunger Games vs the Hunger Games. May the odds be ever in your favor




I recently watched the Hunger Games which inspired me to reread the books. I read the books when they first came out so it’s been about 10 years (wow, I can’t believe that).

The basic rule in book to movie adaptions is that the book is always better. I’m not sure that’s the case here though. Don’t get me wrong, the book still holds up after ten years but I do think there were a lot of things that the movies did better than the book.


What the movie did better (in my opinion)

  • In all honesty, I think the characterization was done better in the movies than in the books. Haymitch mentions that Katniss isn't exactly approachable and friendly in comparison with Peeta. But since we are privy to Katniss's every thought, it's kind of hard to see how she comes off this way. We know exactly what's in her heart and she does come off a lot more likable. Movie Katniss is icy and awkward when trying to woo the capital. She has a very defined character that is likable but we are actually showed her personality instead of told it. Peeta's personality in the book was also a little off for me. He's sweet as can be but also has an edge that combats this at times. Movie Peeta has his outbursts but he comes off as a bit scornful. I think about the scene where Katniss is trying to talk up Peeta's abilities. In the book, Peeta takes offense to this. He comes off as bitter and sullen (which he has every right to be). In the movie, his reaction is more tragic but you never get the sense that he's angry at Katniss for having better skills. Now, the characters in the books aren't bad or anything, they are good characters. I just honestly prefer the way they were portrayed in the movie. I felt like their personalities were stronger. Haymitch and Effie were not much different from the book but Harrelson and Banks portrayals gives them an extra kick to them.

  • Seneca Crane. I think this was so smart of the movie to include the nameless (given a name in the sequel) gamekeeper as a main character manipulating the game. Katniss assumes and theorizes what's going on in the book but it's much more entertaining to see how what she does in the games influence Seneca's choices and vice versa. Especially when Seneca decides to have two victors in the games and then the conversation with Snow that causes him to revoke it. The scene at the end where he's locked in a room with a bowl full of nightlock is chilling.

  • The action. This is pretty self explanatory. It's much more suspenseful to watch the hunger games than to read about them. But then again, does that make us any better than the capitol to enjoy watching teenagers fight for their lives?

  • The pacing. It felt surprisingly rushed in the books. Everything happens so fast. The time passed feels more stretched out in the movie. Of course, there are parts in the movie that feel rushed but overall, I preferred the movie's pacing.

  • Cato. There's more of him in the movie which makes him more human. His speech before his death scene actually makes you feel bad for him. You really see this teenaged boy who was trained his whole life to be a victor and how that's affected his sanity. Katniss speculates this in the book but we never get the chance to see it.

What the book did better

  • The backstory. We get a lot of it and get to see how poverty affected Katniss and made her the survivor she was. Her backstory is an important part of her characterization and her ability to survive the games. Likewise, we learn more about Peeta's life too.

  • Katniss nursing Peeta. It happens very quickly in the movie but is over a period of time in the books. I feel like this is really when Katniss came to care about Peeta and it's sweet to read.

  • Peeta's amputation. It doesn't seem like a big deal but I liked how the series had a main character with a prosthetic leg.

  • The banter. Katniss and Peeta have a lot more fun with each other and their conversation. They joke around and act sappy with one another but still manage to be down to earth. It solidifies their relationship in a way the movie doesn't.

  • All the characters they cut in the movie. Madge. The Avox girl. They were minor but it added an extra layer to the books. I think it's much more powerful that Madge gave her the mockingjay pin as opposed to buying it from a market.

I think both the movie and book have their high points and it really comes down to if you prefer being in Katniss's head or not. I think that's the biggest difference. You get slightly different experiences because of it. Personally, I prefer seeing the overall picture which makes me lean towards the movies but the books were my first love and still holds up after 10 years. I remember Catching Fire being my least favorite of the books so I'm interested to see how I react to it this time around.






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page